Blogging Against Disablism Day: Rethinking Access

Over the past five months, my thoughts on access have shifted to such a degree that some friends wonder if I might be lying about how I experience the world.

Until this January, I never asked for access and I didn’t identify as Deaf or HoH.  When I did question the way I hear, I often dismissed my own concerns as lying to myself or being dramatic.  It’s hard to know, after all, how you hear relative to others.  I frequently make “silly mistakes” in interpreting another person’s words, and these mistakes have always been an embarrassment.  I’ve always hated phones.  I do a lot of “filling in” that I don’t really think about to get the full meaning of a sentence, and I hadn’t really noticed how that differs from others’ experiences.

It wasn’t until a conference in January that I considered asking for PSE (ASL signs in English word order, basically) interpretation.  I felt like such a fraud asking, and every other word/sign in my request was an apology.  Even as witnessed how much of a difference it made for my ability to understand without strain and frustration, I felt guilty.

One interpreter, though, said something that resonated with me.  He said that it doesn’t matter what your disability is, or even whether you have one.  You don’t need a diagnosis.  If interpreters give you greater access, and improve your experience, you have a right to request them.

I can’t say that my feelings on the issue have magically reversed in five months. I still ask myself if my hearing issues are “real,” or “enough” to ask for help.  I suspect I have an auditory processing disorder, and I feel fraudulent when I identify as HoH as a shorthand.  I don’t want to minimize anyone’s Deaf identity by using terms that imply a more difficult experience than I have.  But I have been learning to ask for access, to request interpreters without fretting over the cost to event organizers and to ask for friends to repeat themselves when I don’t understand.  I’ve also been attending Deaf events whenever I can, to surround myself with people who don’t see ASL as a “language of the disabled.”

One of the hardest things I’ve had to do, but one of the most important I think to fighting ableist attitudes, is to demand access and not accept excuses.  When an organizer says “no,” “it costs too much,” or “we can’t find interpreters,” I’m training myself to challenge that attitude and confront organizers about their hypocrisy as social justice activists.  I’m learning to stop myself from saying “it’s okay, I understand, I can hear enough to follow” and to instead explain that my access is limited and I’m getting less out of the event I paid for than other attendees.  Who knows what effect these protests will have in the future, but my hope is that they will raise at least some awareness.

This post is for the Blogging Against Disablism Day 2012 event.  Follow the link to read all the posts.

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on May 1, 2012, in (dis)ability and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I was really happy to see someone signing in the video of Martha Plimpton speaking at the Unite Women rally in NYC on April 28. I noticed it right away and was so pleased to see that someone had made that accommodation. Access is so important.

  2. Thanks for this Avory. For the second BADD, my friend Ira wrote a brilliant piece called Retard Theory, describing how in education, as with queer in life, someone who gets labelled “retard” or someone with “special needs”, isn’t a particular diagnosis or condition, but someone who needs to do things differently for some reason or other.

    Your interpreter is spot on; it doesn’t matter why you benefit from PSE. My boyfriend and I are learning BSL so that we have another means of communicating, as sometimes illness effects our ability with spoken language through exhaustion, migraine, muscle cramps etc.. I think we have an idea that all adaptions are a tremendous privilege, and that we all need to qualify in the right way or else we’re taking advantage (heartlessly deceiving people who react with pity whenever they see someone signing, or using a wheelchair or whatever else). Really all this stuff is just tools for living. If these tools make your life easier, then labels are irrelevant.

  3. Your post has given me a lot to think about, Avory. Thank you. All the best – Sarah

Leave a comment