Radically Queer Goals for 2013

One thing I’ve learned over the past year is the value of not only goal-setting, but keeping a goal list short and simple. I’ve trimmed down a lot in 2012–Gender Across Borders closed in the spring, and I’m stepping down as Managing Editor at Girl w/ Pen at the end of the year. I took a break from #transchat (which I’m back to coordinating in 2013!) and only did a few fall speaking gigs. This year, I want to focus on the following for this blog:

1. Consistency, including shorter posts rather than queuing ideas for months and months.

2. Journalism! I’m going to stick my toe in the waters here and indulge in one of my passions–research. When I can, I’ll bring you event coverage, interviews, and investigative reporting on topics of interest to a radically queer audience.

3. Finally, I’ll be starting a project that’s long been a future plan for this blog (I think I came up with the idea 2+ years ago.) The Radically Fabulous interview column will focus on fabulous people of all kinds, with an emphasis on their passion projects and topics that might not always come up in the media.

I look forward to bringing you new content in 2013 and hope to meet many of you soon! I’ll be at IvyQ and UNC Law school in February, as well as at CatalystCon in DC in March. If you’d like me to speak or teach a workshop on your campus or for your organization, I’m still booking for March-May 2013. You can find more details at my speaking page.

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on December 31, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

