What’s Your Guilty Pleasure?

So we all know about the stupid commercials trying to convince women that our guilty pleasure is shampooing, eating yoghurt, jogging… but today I’ve been thinking about my own guilty pleasures, things that I enjoy and feel a bit guilty about because I’m a feminist, because I’m queer, because I’m supposedly not girly, because I’m intelligent, whatever.  These are my guilty pleasures – what are yours?

  • Britney Spears, especially “Womanizer” and “If You Seek Amy”
  • That fucking Katy Perry song that I hate on principle but can’t get out of my head
  • Justin Timberlake
  • The Holiday
  • The Bachelorette
  • Silly YA novels
  • Diana Gabaldon

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on September 25, 2009, in pop culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. oh norah roberts and her strange straight novels had to admit it sometime might as well be on here right?

  2. I totally agree that sometimes commercials are so marginalized.
    Quilty pleasures:
    – reading blogs and sharing my opinion
    – watching Criminal Minds
    – exploring Robert Scheinfeld’s theory

  3. That 3oh!3 song… “Don’t Trust Me”
    It is absolutely awful, but I just can’t help singing along.

Leave a Reply

