Valentine's Day

Anyone have any amusing Valentine’s stories to tell?

I’m fairly indifferent towards the holiday.  When I was 17, my girlfriend’s parents didn’t know she was gay and so when she was supposed to be coming over they decided to have family night instead and I ended up eating tasty desserts and watching Amélie with my mom, which was nonetheless fun.  When I was 19 and 20, I had a boyfriend, but he stunk at romance.  I find that my best Valentine’s Days are often happily single ones, when I can have a Self-Love day.  I’ll be quitting my productive activities tonight at six, making my favorite mushroom stroganoff, opening a bottle of wine, and watching Paris Je T’aime.

If you’re unhappily single, though, I recommend a particular song by a brilliant songwriter (Amanda Palmer), called “Leeds United.”  My favorite line:

Who needs love when there’s Law & Order?

Who needs love when there’s Southern Comfort?

Who needs love when the sandwiches are wicked and they know you at the Mac store?

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on February 14, 2009, in pop culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I couldn’t have put it better myself!! Love that Amanda P song.

    I’m indifferently single this year. Doing my best to remain positive this Singles Awareness Day. Amelie sounds like a good choice to watch tonight. I have a giant Crunch bar waiting for me.

  2. I love that song! It’s been my single anthem for some time now.

  3. I’ve noticed that V-day treatment for same-sex couples changes depending on your amount of wealth.

    My gf and I started out pretty darn broke. So, in celebrating the big V-day, often we were notably scoffed at when we went to the local restaurant for the “Valentine’s day special deals,” etc…

    Now that we are doing fairly well for ourselves, you wouldn’t even know we were gay. Same city, different establishments. I suppose I am now “paying” for my acceptance? Either that, or restaurants and gift shops that accommodate wealthy people understand that it’s just bad business to be so openly discriminatory.

    I’m a very “passable” gal, but when purchasing things I am always sure to say who it is for. Like, for example, I was at Tiffany’s buying a necklace last year…they asked “is this for your sister?” to which I said “no, it is for my wife.” They were wonderful, didn’t bat and eye, asked me questions about her preferences, and gave me impeccable service. I felt like, in some ways, they even went out of their way BECAUSE I was gay.

    Valentine’s day has shown me and my wife, that it seems money is the universal ticket. It makes discriminatory people quiet (even though they may not truly accept), it speaks some language of power, and it has really motivated us in attaining the wealth we have – and to continue to build it. It is an equalizer (falsely so or not) that gets you further than anything else we’ve noted.

    A sad commentary, and why I’ve served on Boards of Directors, etc…to help with underserved lesbian/gay individuals.

    I look forward to the time when my V-day isn’t pleasant simply because we dropped some cash. Hopefully, equality is coming…or soon, we’re moving where it exists. Richard Florida calls it the “flight of the creative class,” but I call it discrimination has limits.

Leave a Reply

