C'mon, Obama, just throw a punch!

If you want to see some of the thoughts I had during the debate you can glance at my twitter (peachy_penumbra), but the big ones are that a) McCain’s paternalism and that damned voice make me want to throw up and b) I’m really bummed that it looks like Cold War Part II is coming and my American passport will keep me from spending any time in Russia, where I’d desperately like to go.

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on September 27, 2008, in law & politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was afraid the obviously dead and reanimated McCain was going to have a stroke.

    And if you want to replace the word “afraid” with “hoping” it would not be totally incorrect.

    Obama was great, but he was too nice. I actually think that he “agreed” with McCain so much was NOT necessarily a bad move, but I think he should have made it more clear that McCain was wrong about his (Obama’s) stances, and he (Obama) wasn’t agreeing with McCain’s assessments. I mean, I thought it was clear, but just for the people who don’t listen too carefully…Also, I think Obama really could have made all that so-called agreement a selling point – he could have used it to make the point that he isn’t so set on being liberal that he can’t work with conservatives.

    McCain…enough with the anecdotes. It’s sad that you didn’t get the tiara for Miss Congeniality, because it would have gone well with your pretty, pretty bracelet. But enough about your jewelry – what are your PLANS? Details, please.

  2. alesbianandascholar

    rebecca- I actually was for the most part listening rather than watching, because the stream had a time delay, but my hairdresser also mentioned that he was looking very pale during the debate. Yikes!

    I do think it would’ve been nice if Obama had been a little more clear about what his stances are, rather than just saying “that’s not true” over and over. I don’t think that it was a clear win either way, and I think that Obama had a slight edge, but he could have really hit it out of the park.

    I’ll cross my fingers for next debate!

Leave a Reply

