Reason #754 Why I'm in Love with Rachel Maddow

She has a debate drinking game.

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on September 26, 2008, in law & politics, pop culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Two weeks ago I hadn’t even heard of her, then I read a tiny snippet about her on a blog, so when I was looking for something to watch right before bed I saw her show was on and flipped to it. And I totally love her. She’s so fun! She’s got this whole can-you-believe-this?-I’m-so-entertained attitude, without being all nasty and off-putting like so many other pundits are. I feel like she’s just my super smart friend who’s giving me the lowdown on what’s going on.

  2. alesbianandascholar

    She’s freaking amazing. I recommend the radio show. I haven’t seen her on TV and frankly with how they’ve beautified her I don’t really want to, but on the radio she’s always spouting amusing tidbits and just being generally witty and awesome. You can listen every weekday from 6-8 EST at airamerica.com

  3. she’s not that bad as far as the makeup and outfits go.
    i mean, she has to wear the suit, which is sorta a given. to be taken seriously, i guess. or something.
    but she is pretty insistent on the “no obvious makeup” policy. i’ve been watching her show from the beginning and the makeup is becoming less and less present so i think she’s winning that battle. but they are making her hair look stupid. very stupid. you know like when you go to your hairdresser and ask for a lesbo haircut and they give it to you like they think a straight person would wear it and you’re all great i look like an idiot now thanks. kinda like that.

  4. alesbianandascholar

    Leila,

    Yeah, I see what you mean. I’m glad to hear it’s becoming less. I know *exactly* what you mean about that hair. My strategy is always just to keep saying “shorter” until it becomes a dyke haircut, without asking specifically. It sort of works.

  5. yeah, the shorter shorter approach does not always work for me. now i go to michelle at the g spot and when she first cut my hair i was like AUGH STRAIGHT and then thought IDEA! i will dress super gay to the hairdresser and that, i think, totally worked.

Leave a Reply

