Mama Mia!

I’d seen the trailer about a hundred times, as it’s the default load for AfterEllen video blogs, but I figured I probably wouldn’t see the movie.  As much as I love musicals and as huge a crush as I have on Meryl Streep, I just don’t have easy access to a movie theatre.  However, yesterday my friend Rita and I were hanging out at the Johnson County fair after my shift tabling for the clinic and we got the idea to go see a movie.  Apparently movies cost eight fifty now, which made my wallet cry a little, but it was a lot of fun.  It’s as feel-good as you would expect, with enough irreverence to excuse watching a chick flick, and Meryl is as always gorgeous and amazing in it.  I also thought the three men did a great job, and I giggled just a little seeing Dakin from History Boys in such a straight role.  Meryl’s performance of “The Winner Takes it All” was by far the best number, though the three women doing “Dancing Queen” (the first time) is hillarious.  I also thought Pierce Brosnan wasn’t bad with his musical numbers – not the best voice I’ve ever heard, but not bad either.  And of course, you can’t fault a PG-13 movie that puts a positive spin on sex and acceptance of women who have multiple partners.  Whoo!

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on July 23, 2008, in reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I don’t think I stopped smiling through the whole movie. You’re right, “The Winner Takes It All” is the best – who knew Meryl Streep could sing like that? A-MAZING. Also – hello Christine Baranski! In her fifties with better legs than I’ve ever had! I think it’s almost impossible not to enjoy a movie when the actors look like they’re having such a blast doing it.

  2. alesbianandascholar

    rebecca – I knew she could sing from Prairie Home Companion, but this is something else! I did notice that both Christine and Meryl are *far* more flexible in their fifties than I am in my twenties, ha!

  3. Oh, I forgot about Prairie Home Companion! That was a nice movie. Kind of like hot chocolate on a rainy day. Yeah, I’m completely obsessed with Christine Baranski and her amazing flexible legs. She’s like my mom’s age. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

