File this under "no such thing as bad publicity"

I wrote a very brief article today on Obama and McCain’s stances on LGBT issues, just a quick highlight of their positions on a few of the major questions.  It’s easily my quickest-to-gain-popularity article on Suite101, but the funny thing is that I’m getting several people coming from a website called savecalifornia.com, which is apparently a site in favor of the marriage amendment there.  A link to my article is prominently placed in the center of the page, labelled “Their positions on the ‘LGBT’ agenda.”  Wow, I never thought I’d get scare quoted!  What an honor!

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on July 11, 2008, in queer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love that it’s the LGBT “agenda.” Damn those gays, and their crazy ideas about “equal rights”!

  2. so, I’m new to you, but you have totally made a scare-quote my new aspiration. ha ha.

    regarding your article: did you find any information on whether Obama supports a trans-inclusive ENDA? I’m curious (especially given the recent congressional hearing on employment discrimination against trans folks.)

  3. alesbianandascholar

    W – Hee! A fine aspiration to strive for. Actually, I couldn’t find much of anything on trans issues 😦 Frustrating. That and a few other things I was curious about, such as IVF. I’m sure someone will bring it up, though. Also possibly of interest is an interview of Obama’s main guy in the campaign on LGBT issues by Jennifer Beals. I didn’t have time to watch the whole thing, as it’s very long, but I’m sure they got into at least some related topics.

  4. ooh, interesting. I will have to check that out. gracias.

  1. Pingback: Bookmarks about File

Leave a Reply

