Sometimes perhaps it's best to keep my mouth shut

I had an amusing encounter at the bookstore today.  I was perusing the LGBT section, which I tend to do frequently in June when they have 20% off everything for Pride.  I selected Best Lesbian Bondage Erotica 2008 and went to the counter to purchase it.

Me: The sale’s going on until the month of June, right?

Saleslady: Yep, till the end of the month.

Me: Awesome.  This is my third time buying books this month.  *laughs*

Saleslady: *smiles*

Me: I just had to get this one, you know, because my friend has a story in it.  I’d feel guilty otherwise!

Saleslady: *blank look*

I suppose when you buy lesbian bondage erotica, you’re not really supposed to chat about it.  Oops.  Failure at social graces #457.  Oh, well.

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on June 25, 2008, in books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. spinning jenny

    Awesome. Next time just give her a suggestive wink as you walk out.

  2. This was great! When I bought “Stonewall” several months ago the saleswoman commented on the cool picture on the front. I just agreed with her that it was a cool picture. I had another GLBT book and was purchasing the L-Word at the same time. About that time, she seemed to get nervous and said “I don’t know what it’s about but, uh, cool picture. Yeah” l just smiled and let it go.

  3. alesbianandascholar

    Jenny – Haha! If only.

    Meg – Aww, haha. I remember when I was sixteen or so once I checked out a big stack of lesbian books for a research paper at the library and I was *so* embarrassed. Things have, uh, changed a bit. 😉

Leave a Reply

