Trend-setter for fifteen seconds

Every now and again, it’s bound to happen.  If you keep living your life more or the less the same way, the way you dress/what you eat/who you have sex with is bound to become trendy for a few minutes or so.  At various times in my life, my style of glasses, the men’s dress shirts I wear, and my haircut have been cool.  Wearing dark colours was actually cool for quite a while there.  Being a vegetarian?  That was cool at some point, I think.  Anyway, today I just realised that the tea I’ve been drinking for a year or two is suddenly trendy for the summer.

Sometimes, when I’m bored, I watch Danish talk shows on YouTube to keep up my Danish skills (which are severely lacking, really).  In one episode, a talk show host was interviewing Viggo Mortensen, an actor I happen to be a fan of (check out his performance in Eastern Promises if you haven’t yet; it’s stellar).  Mortensen spent some time in Venezuela and Argentina as a kid, and he apparently drinks a tea called maté, to which he introduced the host.  “Does it need sugar?” he host asked.  “No, no.”  Host takes a sip.  Nearly spits it out.  Mortensen adds sugar.  

I was intrigued by this clip, because I’m a huge fan of strong tea.  I got some yerba maté, as well as a blend called “rainforest” maté, from the online tea company I was using at the time, and I really liked it.  I was also thrilled to find that Red Poppy, the hookah bar slash tearoom in Iowa City, has a fantastic maté.  Searching around online, I found that the tea contains antioxidants that give an energy boost, much like caffeine.  Excellent!

Well, today I was riding my bike across the river for my Turkish exam, and because I’m lazy and didn’t want to ride up the hill to the building where the exam was, I “parked” at the student union.  And because the weather was nice and this was my last exam, I decided to celebrate with an icy beverage.  So, lo and behold, they have turned my nice hippie antioxidant tea into a latté.  Leave it to JavaHouse to latté-ize almost anything.  It’s good – basically a chai latté with maté instead of chai – and it costs $4.05 plus tax.  Ha!  Ha ha ha ha.  And of course, they have big posters advertising how it’s like caffeine but not, and organic and good for you and trendy. 

Oh, boy.  

About Avory

Avory Faucette is a queer feminist activist, writer, and public speaker. Zie graduated from the University of Iowa with a JD in 2009, focusing on international human rights and gender/sexuality issues in the law. Hir current work focuses on queer identity, policy, and marginalized identities under the queer umbrella. As a genderqueer person, zie comments frequently on non-binary identity, transgender and genderqueer issues, and media coverage of these populations. Zie also speaks at colleges, universities, and events on transgender and queer issues and conducts trainings on related topics.

Posted on May 14, 2008, in pop culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like tea lattés. A whole lot. I don’t usually view them as “tea”, though. They’re this mystical milky beverage that tastes SO GOOOOOD. In the summer-y months, iced lattés are my very favourite thing.

    Other than that, I don’t really “get” the concept behind adding sugar to my tea. It’s tea, it’s supposed to be a little bitter. But I also like really strong tea – green tea has been a recent addition (though an exciting one), and I’m still waiting to meet a white tea I truly like. Red tea? Is where it’s at in my world.

    Which reminds me I finally tried some of the peach oolong I got in the mail from the site you suggested. I FOUND MY PERSONAL HEAVEN. Next paycheque I’m ordering a gigantic container of it because I may drink nothing else for the next several months.

  2. alesbianandascholar

    Yeah, I’m strange in that I really need my iced tea to be sweet, but I can’t handle sugar in hot tea. I want it strong and naturally flavourful. Bitterness is just fine, especially in a black tea.

    I don’t know green teas very well. I do love flavoured rooibos. As for white, I *think* the ginger tea I like is a white tea, and I love it, but I’m addicted to ginger. I’ll check out that peach oolong! I’m a huge peach fan (the LJ name isn’t just due to Ginsberg or my Southernness).

Leave a Reply

